Why I love Salesforce and the IdeaExchange

Some have asked me why I love Salesforce so much, and why I spend such a great deal of time submitting, commenting, and voting on Ideas on the IdeaExchange.  Here is a list of the primary reasons that motivate me to invest so much in this community:

  • To me, Salesforce.com is one of the most revolutionary platforms ever to come into the information technology marketplace. The power that it gives average users to structure, capture, and analyze data is trule remarkable. It is something that I haven’t seen anyone else match or beat to date.  With every release, the need for writing code to build robust applications is remarkably diminished, and the efficiency with which custom applications can be deployed is also remarkable and unmatched in my experience. I want to help this great platform become even better, and eliminate any obstacles to adoption that I uncover.
  • The IdeaExchange was the first community I ever encountered where it was clearly accessible and encouraged to submit concepts for product improvement to an organization, and easily share those concepts with your peers in the community so that they could promote them as well. I had been looking for an outlet like this for many products that I was passionate about, and discovering the IdeaExchange was tremendously exciting. Salesforce was the first company that I know of to offer a product focused on this amazingly simple but powerful paradigm, and has been the most successful by far in helping other companies implement this model. 
  • I have been privileged to consult with a large number of Salesforce customers, users, and administrators, so I hear a number of unique feature and enhancement requests for the Salesforce.com platform. Most of these people are not ready or interested in participating in the IdeaExchange, so I feel a responsibility to make sure that their Ideas are heard and promoted. Because I spend so much time on the IdeaExchange, I can also give customers and users some insight about what Ideas have already been submitted, and the likelihood or timeframe in which those Ideas might be implemented.
  • Participating in the IdeaExchange (or any Ideas community that has such positive momentum) is increasingly rewarding, as it enables you to connect directly with other users, partners, and product owners that you would likely have never interacted with in other types of communitites. It also gives you a greater sense of ownership in the community, because you are contributing something that the group can objectively identify as valuable. 

I’ve really been amazed at how rapidly the IdeaExchange community has grown and the amount of impact that it has had on the Salesforce.com/Force.com platform. I’m looking forward to seeing how it continues to evolve!

3 comments so far

  1. Joe Ferraro on

    great post, Alex!

  2. marilynl on

    Thanks for the shout-out, Alex! We love your active participation on the IdeaExchange. Keep those great Ideas, votes and comments coming =)

    ~IdeaExchange Program Manager

  3. agluewvrs on

    Good stuff Alex. Keeping up to speed on the ideaexchange also tends to make me a better consultant. You tend to learn a lot about the technology (and it’s nuanced limitations) by seeing the challenges, and of course the ideas to surmount them, via the ideaexchange medium.

    It’s weirdly addicting.. 🙂


Leave a Reply

